Contact Legislators

Who’s My Legislator?

Go to http://www.elections.alaska.gov/vi_eo_state.php

or// Legislative web site: http://www.legis.state.ak.us, click on “Who represents me?” in lower right

——————————————

Legislative Protocol: A Primer

Helpful tips on interacting with the Legislature, courtesy of Anchorage School District:

Respect the institution – the government, the legislature, the governor’s office, the political/legislative process. It may not be perfect; but belittling it, rather than working to change it, will not make it more effective.

Respect the position if not the person. Voters elected legislators. They may not all meet one’s personal standards for being a legislator, nor will they necessarily hold the “right” view on the vital issues; but treat each legislator with respect.

Know and use legislators’ proper titles – senator, representative, governor – and address written correspondence appropriately. When speaking to a legislator, let the situation dictate the form of address. While one may be on a first name basis in an informal setting, in public a legislator should be addressed with his or her formal title.

When calling on government officials, dress appropriately. Formal meetings call for professional (business) attire, as do appearances before committees.

Know the issues, the pros and the cons. Legislators are busy people, and few have time for long-winded explanations. Be able to explain the matter at issue concisely and clearly.

When dealing with the sponsor of a bill of interest, be clear in expressing concerns. Know the sponsor’s positions in order to respond directly to them. Know the points on which compromise will be acceptable.

When testifying, always thank the committee chair and the committee for the opportunity to present your position, even if they disagree with your position.

Attack the issue, never the person.

LEGISLATIVE EMAILS:

Senators
Senator.Anna.Fairclough@akleg.gov
Senator.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov
Senator.Berta.Gardner@akleg.gov
Senator.Bill.Wielechowski@akleg.gov
Senator.Catherine.Giessel@akleg.gov
Senator.Charlie.Huggins@akleg.gov
Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov
Senator.Dennis.Egan@akleg.gov
Senator.Donny.Olson@akleg.gov
Senator.Fred.Dyson@akleg.gov
Senator.Gary.Stevens@akleg.gov
Senator.Hollis.French@akleg.gov
Senator.John.Coghill@akleg.gov
Senator.Johnny.Ellis@akleg.gov
Senator.Kevin.Meyer@akleg.gov
Senator.Lesil.McGuire@akleg.gov
Senator.Lyman.Hoffman@akleg.gov
Senator.Mike.Dunleavy@akleg.gov
Senator.Pete.Kelly@akleg.gov
Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov
Representatives
Representative.Alan.Austerman@akleg.gov
Representative.Andy.Josephson@akleg.gov
Representative.Benjamin.Nageak@akleg.gov
Representative.Beth.Kerttula@akleg.gov
Representative.Bill.Stoltze@akleg.gov
Representative.Bob.Herron@akleg.gov
Representative.Bob.Lynn@akleg.gov
Representative.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov
Representative.Cathy.Munoz@akleg.gov
Representative.Charisse.Millett@akleg.gov
Representative.Chris.Tuck@akleg.gov
Representative.Craig.Johnson@akleg.gov
Representative.Dan.Saddler@akleg.gov
Representative.David.Guttenberg@akleg.gov
Representative.Doug.Isaacson@akleg.gov
Representative.Eric.Feige@akleg.gov
Representative.Gabrielle.LeDoux@akleg.gov
Representative.Geran.Tarr@akleg.gov
Representative.Harriet.Drummond@akleg.gov
Representative.Jonathan.Kreiss-Tomkins@akleg.gov
Representative.Kurt.Olson@akleg.gov
Representative.Lance.Pruitt@akleg.gov
Representative.Les.Gara@akleg.gov
Representative.Lindsey.Holmes@akleg.gov
Representative.Lora.Reinbold@akleg.gov
Representative.Lynn.Gattis@akleg.gov
Representative.Mark.Neuman@akleg.gov
Representative.Max.Gruenberg@akleg.gov
Representative.Mia.Costello@akleg.gov
Representative.Mike.Chenault@akleg.gov
Representative.Mike.Hawker@akleg.gov
Representative.Neal.Foster@akleg.gov
Representative.Paul.Seaton@akleg.gov
Representative.Peggy.Wilson@akleg.gov
Representative.Pete.Higgins@akleg.gov
Representative.Scott.Kawasaki@akleg.gov
Representative.Shelley.Hughes@akleg.gov
Representative.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov
Representative.Wes.Keller@akleg.gov
Administration
sean.parnell@alaska.gov

2014 Legislative Committees, abridged

For full listing go to http://www.legis.state.ak.us

House Education Committee
Chair Lynn Gattis Representative.Lynn.Gattis@akleg.gov
Vice Chair Lora Reinbold Representative.Lora.Reinbold@akleg.gov
Gabrielle LeDoux Representative.Gabrielle.LeDoux@akleg.gov
Paul Seaton Representative.Paul.Seaton@akleg.gov
Peggy Wilson Representative.Peggy.Wilson@akleg.gov
Harriet Drummond Representative.Harriet.Drummond@akleg.gov
Senate Education Committee
Chair Gary Stevens Senator.Gary.Stevens@akleg.gov
Vice Chair Mike Dunleavy Senator.Mike.Dunleavy@akleg.gov
Bert Stedman Senator.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov
Charlie Huggins Senator.Charlie.Huggins@akleg.gov
Berta Gardner Senator.Berta.Gardner@akleg.gov
House Finance
Co-Chair Alan Austerman Representative.Alan.Austerman@akleg.gov
Co-Chair Bill Stoltze Representative.Bill.Stoltze@akleg.gov
Vice Chair Mark Neuman Representative.Mark Neuman@akleg.gov
Mia Costello Representative.Mia.Costello@akleg.gov
Bryce Edgmon Representative.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov
Lindsey Holmes Representative.Lindsey.Holmes@akleg.gov
Cathy Munoz Representative.Cathy.Munoz@akleg.gov
Steve Thompson Representative.Steve.Thompson@akleg.gov
Tammie Wilson Representative.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov
Les Gara Representative.Les.Gara@akleg.gov
David Guttenberg Representative.David.Guttenberg@akleg.gov
Mike Hawker Representative.Mike.Hawker@akleg.gov
Senate Finance
Co-Chair Pete Kelly Senator.Pete.Kelly@akleg.gov
Co-Chair Kevin Meyer Senator.Kevin.Meyer@akleg.gov
Vice Chair Anna Fairclough Senator.Anna.Fairclough@akleg.gov
Mike Dunleavy Senator.Mike.Dunleavy@akleg.gov
Click Bishop Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov
Donny Olson Senator.Donny.Olson@akleg.gov
Lyman Hoffman Senator.Lyman.Hoffman@akleg.gov
House Judiciary
Chair Wes Keller Rep.Wes.Keller@akleg.gov
Vice Chair Bob Lynn Rep.Bob.Lynn@akleg.gov
Neal Foster Rep.Neal.Foster@akleg.gov
Gabrielle LeDoux Rep.Gabrielle.LeDoux@akleg.gov
Charisse Millett Rep.Charisse.Millett@akleg.gov
Lance Pruitt Rep.Lance.Pruitt@akleg.gov
Max Gruenberg Rep.Max.Gruenberg@akleg.gov
House Leadership
Speaker of the House Mike Chenault Representative.Mike Chenault@akleg.gov
Majority Leader Lance Pruitt Representative.Lance.Pruitt@akleg.gov
Minority Leader Chris Tuck Representative.Chris.Tuck@akleg.gov
Senate Leadership
Senate President Charlie Huggins Senator.Charlie.Huggin@akleg.gov
Majority Leader John Coghill Senator.John.Coghill@akleg.gov
Minority Leader Hollis French Senator.Hollis.French@akleg.gov